Resolved to do anything that sparks enthusiasm in my heart

It’s Time to Write Again.

It’s time to write again.

This blog started as a way for me to practice writing and learn how to blog. I run the blog where I work, and I wanted a way to write with material that was comfortable for me without having our company logo on it. It was an experiment, it was enjoyable, and it was time-consuming. Now, having put TravelingChicha down for practically a year, this blog has become or will become something else for me.  It’s an outlet for those life convictions that finally sort themselves out on my hour commute to work in the mornings. It’s a way for me to chronicle my travels and the ups and downs in between. It’s a life portfolio that I can look back on years from now and shake my head at my foolish thoughts and ideals. It’s both public and private.

For me to write at all, I need to let go of the structure and promotion. Posts will be published, but not promoted on Facebook, Twitter, and any other outlets. SEO will be abandoned. Forget searching for outbound links. If they exist and I know about them, great. Otherwise, it doesn’t matter. Most of all, I’m letting go of the publishing schedule that I tie myself to with work and what anyone writing a “blogging 101” article will tell you to do. When I go on a trip, when I’m moved by a thought, when I see God working in my life, I will write. Otherwise, I’m not forcing it. I’m sure there will be intense periods of writing and intense periods of drought. In any case, it is what it is.  It’s an outlet for the lessons I’m learning in life and my adventures, plain and simple.

And yes, I am aware that I abusively use the comma. It’s difficult for me to write a sentence without one. I legitimately get a jolt of happiness when I can. There’s one now…!

7 responses

  1. Congrats on picking up the writing again Natalie!

    June 21, 2013 at 6:01 PM

    • Thanks for cheering me on Roger 🙂 I love seeing lifelaidout in my inbox.

      July 3, 2013 at 11:11 AM

  2. Welcome back! I love your heart in this post! I need to learn to do that! Pumped to read your thoughts!

    June 24, 2013 at 10:11 AM

  3. Glad to have you back with full heart. From one comma abuser to another, how can you not love those little marks that give pause in a sentence. Seems to me we need more commas in our lives than fewer. 🙂 Best wishes.

    June 24, 2013 at 11:53 AM

    • I’m happy to connect with you again Sherry! 🙂 Cheers to commas!

      July 3, 2013 at 11:10 AM

  4. Pingback: Cell Phones Suck | TravelingChicha

Leave a Reply

