Resolved to do anything that sparks enthusiasm in my heart

Celebrate Spring: Washington D.C. Cherry Blossoms

Photo Shoot on the Tidal Basin

I am very thankful that I live in area that experiences four distinct seasons, as seasonal change is always a time of reflection for me. As March draws to a close and spring kicks into full gear, I am reminded to do a quarter year check-in. Am I growing? What lessons have I learned over the last three months? Am I on track with the goals I laid out in January? How can I improve this quarter? Spring is a great reminder to let go of what happened in winter, to look forward, and to grow!

Last week I had the immense privilege of being in Washington D.C. for the peak bloom of the cherry blossom trees. This year holds special significance as it is the centennial celebration of the gift of the cherry blossoms from Japan. Beyond the layer of whimsy that the blossoms added to the city, the scent was unbelievable! It was a wonderful feeling to close my eyes, take a deep breath of the blooms, and feel the cool breeze of spring.  Happy Spring!

Cherry Blossoms in Arlington National Cemetery

Tidal Basin Cherry Blossoms

Inside the blossoms


More Cherry Blossom Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/travelingchicha/sets/72157629695158235/

What have you been doing to celebrate Spring? What do you look forward to about this season? Comment below!

10 responses

  1. Pingback: 2012 Centennial of Cherry Blossoms in Washington DC « Impressions

  2. Me & Beirut

    You really have incredible photos! Well done 🙂

    April 3, 2012 at 4:12 PM

  3. I want to cry hahaa! It’s been like 4 years since I last saw blooming cherry blossoms! Thanks for the beautiful pics! I definitely miss having 4 different seasons vs. rain or no rain…

    April 4, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    • Thank you for reading! I hear you about the rain or no rain. It makes it all the more important to do new things to distinguish each year, season, and month. Thanks again!

      April 4, 2012 at 10:24 AM

  4. photogeek23

    I could not agree more about Spring and being able to enjoy the changing seasons. I was in Japan at the perfect time to enjoy the cherry blossoms a few years back. It was an experience that I will never forget.

    April 12, 2012 at 10:25 PM

  5. photogeek23

    I can’t agree more about the changing of seasons. I’ve been lucky enough to see the cherry blossoms in Tokyo. I’ve also driven to DC during the blizzard of 2009. When I really think about it I think enduring the blizzard was a lot more fun. Thanks for this.

    April 12, 2012 at 10:43 PM

    • Thank you for reading! The blizzard sounds intense…. but Tokyo sounds like my kind of adventure!

      April 13, 2012 at 8:16 AM

  6. Stunning cherry blossoms – they had just started to bloom when we visited Washington DC in March, so I can imagine how gorgeous it looks now!

    April 13, 2012 at 8:48 AM

    • They were extremely beautiful! I couldn’t get over how wonderful they smelled! Thank you for reading!

      April 13, 2012 at 8:49 AM

Leave a comment