Resolved to do anything that sparks enthusiasm in my heart

Highly Recommended: What I Don’t Leave Home Without

Unfortunately, I’m not paid to promote these items (although I welcome the opportunity!).

Osprey Packs: Think Mary Poppins- there is always more room in an Osprey pack. I swear these bags will morph to accommodate whatever you want to hold.  Osprey packs are mind readers; pockets are placed where you intuitively want them. Ospreys can take a beating and will outlast whatever you can throw at it. I can’t speak highly enough. I currently use the Flap Jill Courier and Luna 75.

Travel Document Wallet: Although I’m not a Vera Bradley fan, I’m happy I received this wallet as a birthday gift and now use it daily. Besides a great organization layout, it has an inside pocket that accommodates a passport and an outside flap that holds a boarding pass for quick accessibility.

Ocean Nasal Spray: Indispensable on long flights to remedy dry-out.

Alternate Wedding Band: Depending on the location, I opt to leave my engagement/wedding rings at home in exchange for a plain silver band. Marital status stays obvious without the incentive of theft.

Dermatone: I don’t know how it’s formulated, but Dermatone protects, moisturizes, and lasts longer than any other product on the market.

Lonely Planet Guidebooks : With accurate and relevant information, Lonely Planet cuts the crap without losing substance. Although rare, it is an extreme disappointment when Lonely Planet doesn’t cover my destination.

Pass the Pigs: Fantastic swine rolling dice game that keeps me entertained on any trip.

Passport Health: Located all over the US, Passport Health is my go-to center for vaccines.  After scheduling a readily available appointment, Passport Health prepares the shots required for your destination as well as packet of current information regarding safety, weather, and political climate of the countries on your itinerary. Vaccines are reasonably priced. You leave with a CDC card, but only after resisting relentless propaganda for useless travel products.

Starbucks VIA: Although expensive, Starbucks VIA is one of the few not-entirely-terrible instant coffee options. I always have a few tucked in my bag just in case.

GSI Coffee Grinder: Compact design, secure transport of beans, and the ability to grind sans electricity makes the GIS coffee grinder my traveling grinder of choice.

GSI French Press: Plastic, lightweight, effective. The GIS French Press gets the job done for 2 cups at a time.

Priceline: I’ve used Priceline to score fantastic last-minute hotel deals in both the US and a few major European cities (Paris, Munich). Waiting until the day-of to book hotels adds fun spontaneity to any trip and saves money.

GoPro Hero 2: A soon-to-be favorite, I just received the Hero 2 as a birthday present and can’t wait to use it on scuba and ski trips.
6 responses

  1. Adam

    You should sign up for an amazon affiliate account. Cool pictures!

    December 4, 2011 at 4:26 PM

  2. Kaiulani

    Once again I learned something! I had never heard of Passport Health or Dermatone!

    December 12, 2011 at 2:34 PM

    • Dermatone rocks K! Expensive…. but fantastic 😀 Thanks for reading!

      December 15, 2011 at 9:00 AM

  3. Love the wedding band one – have used a few times. Usually it works, although I have considered some kind of phony bling ring – sometimes the band just isn’t enough!

    December 14, 2011 at 12:22 PM

  4. Thanks Anita! I agree… my eyes always adjust to the fake ring and are shocked when my real rings go back on at home!

    December 14, 2011 at 12:29 PM

  5. Pingback: How to Pack Like a Champion Using Ziplock Bags « TravelingChicha

Leave a Reply

